ALFILM SELECTION

The 13th ALFILM SELECTION will be presenting a multifaceted programme, showcasing the cultural diversity of the Arab world, from Somalia to Morocco, from Yemen to Palestine.

In addition to the countries that are usually strongly represented during ALFILM, such as Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, and Tunisia, the 13th ALFILM SELECTION will present films from Jordan with The Alleys (Bassel Ghandour, 2020), Iraq with Europa (Haider Rashid, 2021) and Our River, Our Sky (Maysoon Pachachi, 2021), Libya with The Colonel’s Stray Dogs (Khalid Shamis, 2021), Qatar with And then they Burn the Sea (Majid Al-Remaihi, 2021), Somalia with Life on the Horn (Moe Harawe, 2020), Sudan with Al Sit (Suzannah Mirghani, 2021), and Yemen with Don’t Get too Comfortable (Shaima El Tamimi, 2021).

Several of the 2022 ALFILM SELECTION films offer a critical and often disturbing look at the current political and social issues of their countries of production. In Feathers (Egypt/France/Netherlands/Greece, 2021), Omar El Zohairy explores the hardships and challenges an underprivileged woman goes through in ruthless Cairo as her husband disappears under mysterious circumstances, whereas in Europa (Iraq/Kuwait/Italy, 2021), Haider Rashid addresses the ever-growing far-right threats Arab migrants are facing in Europe

The questions of identity and migration are also central within the 13th ALFILM SELECTION with films such as A Tale of Love and Desire (Layla Bouzid, Tunisia/France, 2021), in which a young Frenchman with Algerian roots questions his identity and what it means to be an Arab, after he falls in love with a young Tunisian woman who has just moved to Paris. In The Sea Ahead by Ely Dagher (Lebanon/France/Belgium/USA/Qatar, 2021), on the other hand, a young woman finds herself again in a crisis-ridden Beirut while battling a depression whose causes stem from her life in exile.

In a trend that ALFILM highlighted in its 12th Home Edition SPOTLIGHT (Genres Revisited: Visionary Imagery and Fragmented Narratives in Contemporary Arab cinema), a number of films of the 13th ALFILM SELECTION use the conventions of mainstream genre films to uncover social grievances and to create multidimensional narratives and complex characters. In the aforementioned films The Alleys, Europa, Feathers and Streams (Mehdi Hmili, Tunisia/France/Luxembourg, 2021), the conventions of thriller, horror, or gangster films are used to shed light on the fears and hardships that the films’ protagonists have to face in their societies or the ones they have migrated to.

Two short films programs complement the 13th ALFILM SELECTION. The first is dedicated to films directed by Arab filmmakers living in diaspora and the second to the exploration of the complexities of family ties.

Films of the 13th ALFILM SELECTION

Al-Sit

Al-Sit

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Casablanca Beats

Casablanca Beats

> 24.4.2022 | 17.30 | Arsenal
>> 26.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
Europa

Europa

> 23.4.2022 | 21.30 | City Kino
>> 25.4.2022 | 22.00 | Arsenal
Feathers

Feathers

> 20.4.2022 | 19.30 | Arsenal
>> 22.4.2022 | 21.00 | City Kino
Khadiga

Khadiga

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Life on the Horn

Life on the Horn

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Streams

Streams

> 23.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
>> 24.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
Suspended Wives

Suspended Wives

Double Feature with Tuk-tuk
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Arsenal
The Alleys

The Alleys

> 21.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 25.4.2022 | 21.00 | City Kino
The Bath

The Bath

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
The Sea Ahead

The Sea Ahead

> 23.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
>> 24.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
The Stranger

The Stranger

> 24.4.2022 | 19.30 | Arsenal
>> 26.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
Their Algeria

Their Algeria

> 22.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
>> 23.4.2022 | 19.00 | Arsenal
Trumpets in the Sky

Trumpets in the Sky

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Tuk-tuk

Tuk-tuk

Double Feature with Suspended Wives
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Arsenal

ALFILM SELECTION

Mit der 13. ALFILM SELECTION zeichnet sich ein facettenreiches Bild ab, das uns in die kulturelle Ländervielfalt der arabischen Welt eintauchen lässt, von Somalia bis nach Marokko, vom Jemen bis nach Palästina.

Neben den immer bei ALFILM stark vertretenen Ländern Ägypten, Algerien, Libanon, Marokko, Palästina, Syrien oder Tunesien präsentiert die 13. ALFILM SELECTION Filme aus Jordanien mit The Alleys (Bassel Ghandour, 2020), dem Irak mit Europa (Haider Rashid, 2021) und Our River…Our Sky (Maysoon Pachachi, 2021), aber auch aus Libyen mit The Colonel’s Stray Dogs (Khalid Shamis, 2021), Katar mit And then they Burn the Sea (Majid Al-Remaihi, 2021), Somalia mit Life on the Horn (Moe Harawe, 2020), Sudan mit Al Sit (Suzannah Mirghani, 2021), oder dem Jemen mit Don’t Get too Comfortable (Shaima El Tamimi, 2021).

Viele der Filme der 2022 ALFILM SELECTION bieten einen kritischen, oft auch verstörenden Blick auf die aktuellen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen ihrer Produktionsländer. In Feathers (Ägypten/Frankreich/Niederlande/Griechenland, 2021) erkundet Omar El Zohairy die Nöte und Herausforderungen einer mittellosen Frau in einem rücksichtslosen Kairo, als ihr Mann unter mysteriösen Umständen verschwindet, während in Europa (Haider Rashid, Irak/Kuwait/Italien, 2021) arabische Migrant:innen mit der wachsenden Macht rechtsextremer Gruppen konfrontiert sind.

Die Fragen von Identität und Migration werden auch bei der 13. ALFILM SELECTION im Zentrum stehen mit Filmen wie A Tale of Love and Desire (Layla Bouzid, Tunesien/Frankreich, 2021), in dem ein junger Franzose mit algerischer Familiengeschichte seine Identität hinterfragt und sich fragt, was es bedeutet, ein Araber zu sein, nachdem er sich in eine junge Tunesierin verliebt, die frisch nach Paris gezogen ist. In The Sea Ahead von Ely Dagher (Libanon/Frankreich/Belgien/USA/Katar, 2021) hingegen muss sich eine junge Frau in einem krisengeschüttelten Beirut wiederfinden, während sie gegen eine Depression kämpft, deren Gründe auf ihr Leben im Exil zurückzuführen sind.

In seiner 13. ALFILM SELECTION folgt ALFILM einem Trend, der bereits in der 12. ALFILM Home Edition im SPOTLIGHT (Genres Revisited: Visionäre Bilder und fragmentierte Narrative im zeitgenössischen arabischen Kino) beleuchtet wurde und zeigt Filme, die die Konventionen des Mainstream-Genrefilms nutzen, um soziale Missstände aufzudecken, komplexe Charaktere darzustellen und mehrdimensionale Erzählungen zu schaffen. In Filmen wie The Alleys, Europa, Feathers oder Streams (Mehdi Hmili, Tunesien/Frankreich/Luxemburg, 2021) werden die Konventionen des Thrillers, des Horrorfilms oder des Gangsterfilms genutzt, um die Ängste und Nöte zu beleuchten, mit denen die Protagonist:innen in den Gesellschaften, in denen sie leben oder in die sie ausgewandert sind, konfrontiert sind.

Zwei Kurzfilmprogramme ergänzen die 13. ALFILM SELECTION. Das erste widmet sich den Filmen arabischer Filmemacher:innen, die in der Diaspora leben, das zweite beleuchtet die Komplexität familiärer Bindungen.

Filme der 13. ALFILM SELECTION

Al-Sit

Al-Sit

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Casablanca Beats

Casablanca Beats

> 24.4.2022 | 17.30 | Arsenal
>> 26.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
Europa

Europa

> 23.4.2022 | 21.30 | City Kino
>> 25.4.2022 | 22.00 | Arsenal
Feathers

Feathers

> 20.4.2022 | 19.30 | Arsenal
>> 22.4.2022 | 21.00 | City Kino
Khadiga

Khadiga

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Life on the Horn

Life on the Horn

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Streams

Streams

> 23.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
>> 24.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
The Alleys

The Alleys

> 21.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 25.4.2022 | 21.00 | City Kino
The Bath

The Bath

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
The Sea Ahead

The Sea Ahead

> 23.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
>> 24.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
The Stranger

The Stranger

> 24.4.2022 | 19.30 | Arsenal
>> 26.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
Their Algeria

Their Algeria

> 22.4.2022 | 19.00 | City Kino
>> 23.4.2022 | 19.00 | Arsenal
Trumpets in the Sky

Trumpets in the Sky

SELECTION SHORTS – Family Ties
> 25.4.2022 | 20.00 | Kulturbrauerei
>> 26.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Tuk-tuk

Tuk-tuk

Double Feature mit Suspended Wives
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Arsenal