ALFILM SPOTLIGHT

7

Lebanon: From Civil War to Chaos, A Tribute to Filmic Resistance

The ALFILM SPOTLIGHT is dedicated to Lebanon entitled From Civil War to Chaos: A Tribute to Filmic Resistance. Funded by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds, with the support of Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient and under the patronage of Volker Schlöndorff, it sheds light on the abuses and mismanagements that led to the current crisis Lebanon is battling, through the lens of filmmakers who creatively take their destiny into their own hands, transforming trauma and experiences into films and thus actively shaping resistance.

To understand the financial collapse that Lebanon is facing and retrace the origins of the crisis, the SPOTLIGHT of the 13th edition of ALFILM is dedicated to Lebanese cinema from the civil war period and until nowadays, through the perspective of Lebanese filmmakers on the developments in their country. The reasons of the Lebanese financial collapse find their roots in the Lebanese civil war, which has deeply and violently divided the country along sectarian lines. With the end of the civil war, many warlords, leaders of the confessional political parties and militias that waged the war, took over the country, which they are still ruling until today.

In the face of the ensuing mismanagement and corruption of the Lebanese ruling class, filmmakers took it upon themselves to challenge the mainstream discourses and to offer alternative and critical perspectives to the prevailing social and political carelessness. It is this filmic resistance that the 13th ALFILM SPOTLIGHT wishes to showcase.

From Bourhane Alaouié’s Beirut, the Enconter (Lebanon/Belgium/Tunis,1981), which already during the Civil War spoke against the division of the Lebanese society and positioned itself strongly against sectarian tendencies, and until Mounia Akl’s Costa Brava, Lebanon (Lebanon/France/Spain/Sweden/Denmark/Norway/Qatar, 2021) that examines the social and emotional impact of the current financial crisis on the lives of a Lebanese family, this year’s SPOTLIGHT sheds the light on the corrupt political elite’s lack of policies and the causes of the current financial collapse.

The question of the physical destruction and reconstruction of Beirut and the parallels between the constant mutation of the city and that of its inhabitants, particularly that of a generation that grew up during the war, are at the centre of Ghassan Salhab’s Terra Incognita (Lebanon/France, 2002). Simon El Haber’s recent documentary, Re-Destruction (Lebanon, 2021) explores the harm done by the post-civil war corrupt policies for the reconstruction of the central neighbourhoods of Beirut in the vicinity of the harbour.

Furthermore, post-war filmmakers are actively engaging in re-examining the past and bringing forward to the public debate the questions of guilt and redemption. In Nos Guerres Imprudentes (Lebanon/France, 1995), Randa Chahal Sabag explores the engagement of her own family in the civil war, and in Once Upon a Time, Beirut (Lebanon/France, 1995) Jocelyne Saab stresses the importance of the work on memory for a generation that was born during the war and the impossibility of moving forward without knowing and understanding the country’s history.

In Memory Box (Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Lebanon/France/Canada/Qatar, 2021) as well, the 13th SPOTLIGHT opening film, the question of the civil war’s memory is a central theme for the representation of contemporary history. The film also deals with the emotional consequences of war trauma.

A short film program (A Declaration of War by Ely Dagher, Lebanon, 2021 – Recovery by Jean-Claude Boulos, Lebanon, 2021 and Struck by Sarah Kaskas, Lebanon, 2021) is dedicated to the aftermath of Beirut’s harbour explosion and the consequences of the current financial crisis on a new generation of Lebanese filmmakers.

Two panel discussions with filmmakers from Lebanon and representatives of ALFILM’s partners Beirut DC and the Cinematheque Beirut accompany the SPOTLIGHT program. The questions of The Multiple Roles of Archives as well as Making Cinema in Times of Crisis will be analysed, discussed and addressed within a socio-political context. Furthermore, a Master Class with documentary filmmaker Eliane Raheb will complement the ALFILM SPOTLIGHT.

 

Films of the 13th ALFILM SPOTLIGHT

A Declaration of War

A Declaration of War

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, With the PANEL: Making Cinema in Times of Crisis
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Marcedes

Marcedes

Double Feature with My Father Is Still a Communist
> 22.4.2022 | 19.30 | Silent Green
Memory Box

Memory Box

> 21.4.2022 | 19.00 | Arsenal
>> 22.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
Re-Destruction

Re-Destruction

Double Feature with Nos Guerres Imprudentes
> 22.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Recovery

Recovery

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, Im Rahmen des PANELS: Filmemachen in Krisenzeiten
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Struck

Struck

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, with the PANEL: Making Cinema in Times of Crisis
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Topology of an Absence

Topology of an Absence

With the PANEL: The Multiple Roles of Archives in Building Counter-Narratives: from the Personal to the Collective
> 22.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green

ALFILM SPOTLIGHT

7

 

 

Lebanon – From Civil War to Chaos: A Tribute to Filmic Resistance

Das 13. ALFILM SPOTLIGHT widmet sich unter der Schirmherrschaft von Volker Schlöndorff, gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und mit Unterstützung des Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient, dem Libanon, um auf die Missstände und die Krise im Libanon aufmerksam zu machen. Das Programm möchte ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Filmschaffenden legen, die ihr Schicksal kreativ in die Hand nehmen, Trauma und Erfahrungen filmisch umsetzen und so Widerstand aktiv gestalten.

Mit Blick auf den aktuellen finanziellen Zusammenbruch, mit dem der Libanon konfrontiert ist, beleuchtet das SPOTLIGHT das libanesische Kino vom Bürgerkrieg bis heute, um die filmischen Positionen in Bezug auf die Entwicklungen im Libanon nachzuzeichnen und die Ursprünge der Krise zu verstehen. Tatsächlich haben die Gründe für den libanesischen Finanzkollaps ihre Wurzeln im libanesischen Bürgerkrieg, der das Land tief und gewaltsam entlang religiöser Linien spaltete. Nach dem offiziellen Ende des Bürgerkriegs übernahmen viele Kriegsherren, Führer der konfessionellen Parteien und Milizen, die den Krieg geführt hatten, die Macht und regieren das Land bis heute.

Angesichts der daraus resultierenden Misswirtschaft und Korruption der libanesischen herrschenden Klasse haben es sich Filmemacher:innen zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Mainstream-Diskurse herauszufordern und alternative und kritische Perspektiven zur vorherrschenden sozialen und politischen Vernachlässigung zu bieten.

Von Borhane Alaouiés Beirut, the Encounter (Libanon/Belgien/Tunesien, 1981), der sich bereits während des Bürgerkriegs gegen die Spaltung der libanesischen Gesellschaft aussprach und entschieden gegen sektiererische Tendenzen positionierte, bis Mounia Akls Costa Brava, Lebanon(Libanon/Frankreich/Spanien/Schweden/Dänemark/Norwegen/Katar, 2021), der die sozialen und emotionalen Auswirkungen der aktuellen Finanzkrise auf das Leben einer libanesischen Familie untersucht, werfen die diesjährigen SPOTLIGHT Filme ein Licht auf die fehlenden Maßnahmen einer korrupten politischen Elite und die Ursachen des Kollaps.

Die Frage der physischen Zerstörung und des Wiederaufbaus Beiruts und die Parallelen zwischen der ständigen Veränderung der Stadt und ihrer Bewohner:innen, insbesondere einer Generation, die während des Krieges aufgewachsen ist, stehen im Zentrum von Ghassan Salhabs Terra Incognita (Libanon/Frankreich, 2002). Simon El Habers neuer Dokumentarfilm Re-Destruction (Libanon, 2021) untersucht indessen die Schäden, die die korrupte Politik nach dem Bürgerkrieg für den Wiederaufbau der zentralen Viertel von Beirut in der Nähe des Hafens angerichtet hat.

Die Filmemacher:innen der Nachkriegszeit haben es sich auch zur Aufgabe gemacht, sich aktiv mit der Vergangenheit auseinanderzusetzen und die Fragen von Schuld und Wiedergutmachung in die öffentliche Debatte einzubringen. In Nos Guerres Imprudentes (Libanon/Frankreich, 1995) untersucht Randa Chahal Sabag das Engagement ihrer eigenen Familie im Bürgerkrieg und in Once Upon a Time, Beirut (Libanon/Frankreich, 1995) betont Jocelyne Saab die Bedeutung der Erinnerungsarbeit für eine Generation, die während des Krieges geboren wurde und die Unmöglichkeit, ohne Kenntnis und Verständnis der Geschichte des Landes voranzukommen.

Auch in Memory Box (Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Libanon/Frankreich/Kanada/Katar, 2021), der das SPOTLIGHT eröffnet, ist das Erinnern für die Darstellung von Zeitgeschichte ein zentrales Thema. Dazu gehört auch die Beschäftigung mit den emotionalen Folgen von Kriegstraumata.

Eine Kurzfilmreihe (A Declaration of War, Ely Dagher, Libanon, 2021 – Struck, Sarah Kaskas, Libanon, 2021 – Recovery, Jean-Claude Boulos, Libanon, 2021) widmet sich den Folgen der Hafenexplosion und der Finanzkrise für die neue Generation libanesischer Filmemacher:innen.

Zwei Podiumsdiskussion mit Filmemacher:innen aus dem Libanon und Vertreter:innen von ALFILMS Kooperationspartnern Beirut DC und die Cinematheque Beirut werden das SPOTLIGHT begleiten. Themen wie Die vielfältigen Rollen von Archiven sowie Filmemachen in Krisenzeiten werden analysiert und diskutiert und in einen gesellschaftspolitischen Kontext gebracht. Eine Masterclass mit Regisseurin Eliane Raheb wird auch das ALFILM SPOTLIGHT ergänzen.

 

 

 

 

Filme des 13. ALFILM SPOTLIGHT

A Declaration of War

A Declaration of War

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, Im Rahmen des PANELS: Filmemachen in Krisenzeiten
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Marcedes

Marcedes

Double Feature mit My Father Is Still a Communist
> 22.4.2022 | 19.30 | Silent Green
Memory Box

Memory Box

> 21.4.2022 | 19.00 | Arsenal
>> 22.4.2022 | 19.30 | Kulturbrauerei
Re-Destruction

Re-Destruction

Double Feature mit Nos Guerres Imprudentes
> 22.4.2022 | 21.00 | Arsenal
Recovery

Recovery

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, Im Rahmen des PANELS: Filmemachen in Krisenzeiten
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Struck

Struck

SPOTLIGHT SHORTS: Beirut, One Year Later, Im Rahmen des PANELS: Filmemachen in Krisenzeiten
> 23.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green
Topology of an Absence

Topology of an Absence

Im Rahmen des PANELS: Die vielfältigen Rollen von Archiven beim Erarbeiten von Gegenerzählungen: vom Persönlichen zum Kollektiven
> 22.4.2022 | 17.00 | Silent Green